## M-I-N-U-T-E-S Curriculum Committee Monday, October 9, 2006 1:00 p.m.

Present: Sam Pecota, Bruce Hartman, Mindy Drake, Darron Thompson, Lui Hebron, John

Massey, Tony Snell, Greg Cho, Marv Christopher for Charlie Arms, Steve Kreta

(Non-voting), Debbie Fischer (Non-voting), and Pat Harper (Non-voting)

Guests: Tom Mader and Tom Nordenholz

Absent: Britt Elliott

- The meeting was called to order by Tom Mader, former chair of the Curriculum Committee. He is now the vice chair of the Senate. Mansur Rastani has resigned from the Curriculum Committee.
- The Academic Senate Executive Committee has suggested that program review should be added to the duties of the Curriculum Committee. One program will be reviewed each academic year. The Curriculum Committee Policies and Procedures document will need to be updated to reflect this new duty. Tom Nordenholz, chair of the Senate, passed out a draft of a Senate document entitled, "Academic Program Review." The Engineering Technology Department's two programs, Marine Engineering Technology and Facilities Engineering Technology, will be the first programs to be reviewed this year by the Curriculum Committee because ABET, the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, will also be reviewing the two programs at the end of October. The Curriculum Committee will be able to review the MET and FET self study that the Engineering Technology Department prepared for ABET. After the discussion on program review, both Toms departed.
- ~ There are two new proposed programs for Cal Maritime that are still in the works:
  - 1. Master of Science degree in Global Supply Chain Management and Security
  - 2. Bachelor of Science degree in Math and Science
- Nominations for chair of the Curriculum Committee were taken. Mindy nominated Bruce Hartman; Darron seconded the nomination. Greg nominated Tony Snell; Sam seconded the nomination. Pat will send out an email ballot that must be returned by 5 p.m., Friday, October 13.
- ~ The meeting was adjourned at 2:22 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Pat Harper, Secretary

cc: Tom Nordenholz, Chair, Academic Senate Dr. Don Zingale, Vice President, Academic Affairs Laura Layton, Exec. Asst. to VPAA