### M-I-N-U-T-E-S

# Curriculum Committee Wednesday, February 28, 2007, 9:50 a.m.

Present: Bruce Hartman (Chair), John Massey, Britt Elliott, Mindy Drake, Donna Nincic (for Lui

Hebron), Stephen Pronchick (for Tony Snell), Paul Leyda (for Sam Pecota), Steve Kreta

(Non-voting), Debbie Fischer (Non-voting), and Pat Harper (Non-voting)

Absent: Darron Thompson, Charlie Arms, Ryan Reiger, Greg Cho

~ The meeting was called to order by Bruce Hartman at 10:00 a.m.

 Donna motioned that the minutes of Friday, February 23, 2007 be approved; Britt seconded the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved 7-Yes/0-No.

## ~ CCR 02/07-07 NAU 415 Transportation Security.

Paul Leyda presented this proposal to change this course from a 2-unit lecture, 1-unit lab course to a 3-unit lecture course. Donna motioned for approval; Mindy seconded the motion. The unanimous vote was 7-Yes, 0-No.

### ~ CCR 02/07-02 ME Option for the Mechanical Engineering Degree.

Steve Pronchick presented this proposal to offer a non-maritime option for the Mechanical Engineering degree. Donna motioned for approval; Mindy seconded the motion. The unanimous vote was 7-Yes/0-No.

### ~ CCR 02/07-09 ENG 440 Power Engineering.

This required new course will replace ENG 472 Facilities Management in the ME CPE-IT curriculum starting with the Class of 2009. Mindy motioned for approval; Donna seconded the motion. The unanimous vote was 7-Yes/0 No.

## ~ CCR 02/07-10 LIB 100 Information Fluency in the Digital World.

Mindy Drake presented the proposal for this new elective. After approval, academic departments will decide at a later date if they want to substitute this course for COM 100 Introduction to Computers, keep COM 100, or allow students to choose between the two courses. Donna motioned for approval; John seconded the motion. The unanimous vote was 7-Yes, 0-No.

- ~ The meeting was adjourned at 10:50 a.m.
- The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, March 7, 2007, from 9:50 to 10:40 a.m. in the President's Conference Room.

Respectfully submitted,

Pat Harper, Secretary

cc: Tom Nordenholz, Chair, Academic Senate Dr. Don Zingale, Vice President, Academic Affairs Laura Layton, Exec. Asst. to VPAA