## M-I-N-U-T-E-S Curriculum Committee Monday, October 26, 2009, 4:30 PM

Present: Tom Nordenholz (Chair), Greg Cho, Josh Lauman, Lui Hebron, Chris Clott, Britt

Elliott, Charlie Arms-Cartee, Scott Saarheim, Mitch Cihomsky, Michele Van Hoeck, Ada Catino, Steve Kreta (Non-voting), Debbie Fischer (Non-voting), and Pat Harper

(Non-voting)

Absent: Sandy Handel (Non-voting)

~ The meeting was called to order by Steve Kreta at 4:35 PM.

- Steve called for nominations for Curriculum Committee chair. Tom Nordenholz was nominated by Charlie; Scott seconded the motion. Ballots were distributed to voting members; all voting members voted. Pat counted the ballots. Tom was unanimously elected as Curriculum Committee chair, 10-Yes/0-No (vote includes Tom Nordenholz's vote).
- ~ Tom called for approval of the minutes of April 27, 2009. Lui motioned that the minutes be approved; Mitch seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously 9-Yes/0-No.
- ~ CCR 10/09-01 GMA 220 Comparative Maritime Policy New course presented by Lui Hebron. This course will be a required course offered in Spring 2010 for the Class of 2012. Charlie motioned for approval; Mitch seconded the motion. The unanimous vote was 9-Yes/0-No.
- Upcoming Program Reviews Marine Transportation, International Business & Logistics, and Global Studies & Maritime Affairs. Steve will meet with Tom Mader and Sam Pecota to discuss the MT program review, which is the closest to being ready for review. He will also meet with Tom Mader and Graham Benton to work on a campus-wide program review schedule.
- ~ The Transportation and Engineering Management Master's Degree program will be presented to the Curriculum Committee for approval before the end of the fall semester. The Curriculum Committee will hold an open meeting so that Senate members can attend.
- ~ The Committee members agreed that holding meetings on Mondays at 4:30 PM worked for everyone.
- Lui motioned for adjournment; Mitch seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 5:02 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Pat Harpen

Pat Harper, Secretary

cc: Steve Browne, President, Academic Senate Dr. Gerald Jakubowski, Provost & VPAA Laura Layton, Exec. Asst. to Provost & VPAA