M-I-N-U-T-E-S Curriculum Committee Monday, February 8, 2010, 4:30 PM

Present: Tom Nordenholz (Chair), Greg Cho, Lui Hebron, Chris Clott, Josh Lauman, Michele

Van Hoeck, Britt Elliott, Debbie Fischer (Non-voting), Sandy Handel (Non-voting),

and Pat Harper (Non-voting)

Absent: Charlie Arms-Cartee, Ada Catino, Mitch Cihomsky, Scott Saarheim, and Steve Kreta

(Non-voting)

- ~ The meeting was called to order by Tom Nordenholz at 4:35 PM.
- ~ Tom called for approval of the minutes of February 2, 2010. Lui motioned that the minutes be approved; Michele seconded the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved, 6-Yes/0-No.
- Discussion of the proposed Master of Science in Transportation and Engineering Management
 - There was more discussion of the proposed Master's Degree program. There was consensus that the concept of the program is a good idea, fitting the mission of the academy, and benefitting the institution, the students and the maritime industry. However there were also concerns raised as to whether the institution in particular its faculty, supporting undergraduate programs, and administrative infrastructure is ready to offer this program in Fall of 2011.
 - o Greg motioned that the Committee is now ready to vote on the endorsement of the program by the Curriculum Committee; Michele seconded the motion. The unanimous vote was 6-Yes/0-No. There was consensus that the Committee should vote by mail, so that all voting members may participate. Tom will create a ballot this week and distribute it to each voting member.
- ~ The next meeting has been changed to Monday, February 15, 2010 at 4:30 PM in TEC 144.

~ The meeting was adjourned at 5:45 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Pat Harper, Secretary

cc: Steve Browne, President, Academic Senate Dr. Gerald Jakubowski, Provost & VPAA