M-I-N-U-T-E-S Curriculum Committee Tuesday, October 5, 2010, 10:45 AM

Present: Tom Nordenholz (Chair), Chris Clott, Michele Van Hoeck, Charlie Arms-Cartee, Mitch

Cihomsky, Britt Elliott, Scott Saarheim, Tim Lynch, D'Marie Ellison, Jaya Punglia, Gabriel Bisconer, and Sandy Handel (Non-voting), Steve Kreta (Non-voting), Pat

Harper (Non-voting)

Absent: Debbie Fischer (Non-voting)

~ The meeting was called to order at 10:45 AM.

- ~ The new members were welcomed and each person introduced himself or herself.
- ~ Tom called for approval of the minutes of April 27, 2010. Charlie motioned that the minutes be approved; Mitch seconded the motion. The minutes were approved, 6-Yes/0-No/4-Abstain.
- The Cal Maritime Academic Program Review Guide and the Academic Senate Policy No. 572 Curriculum Committee Policies and Procedures were handed out to everyone on the Committee. The Curriculum Committee Policies and Procedures document needs to be updated and cleaned up, i.e., delete title of Dean, Instructional Support, and designate Robert's Rules of Order as the method of running Curriculum Committee meetings.
- ~ Nominations for Chair of the Curriculum Committee were called for by Steve Kreta. Mitch nominated Tom to continue as chair. Jaya seconded the nomination. Tom stated that he was willing to serve again. The unanimous vote was 10-Yes/0-No.
- The Committee decided to vote on allowing the MPM Department to have two separate votes instead of sharing a vote. Tim motioned for equal representation by the MPM Department 1 vote for Business/IBL and 1 vote for GSMA; Mitch seconded the motion. The unanimous vote was 10-Yes/0-No. The Curriculum Committee Policies and Procedures document will need to be updated with this information.
- Mitch motioned for adjournment; Chris seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 11:32 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Pat Harpen

Pat Harper, Secretary

cc: Steve Browne, President, Academic Senate Dr. Gerald Jakubowski, Provost & VPAA