M-I-N-U-T-E-S Curriculum Committee Thursday, October 13, 2011, 1:45 PM

- Present: Charlie Arms (Chair), Britt Elliott, Michele Van Hoeck, Tim Lynch, Taiyo Inoue, Scott Green, Nipoli Kamdar, Tom Nordenholz, Steve Pronchick (Non-voting), Debbie Fischer (Non-voting), and Pat Harper (Non-voting)
- Absent: John Kassoff, Scott Saarheim, and Sandy Handel (Non-voting)
- Guests: Bob Neumann and Harry Portolos
- \sim The meeting was called to order at 1:50 PM.
- Charlie called for approval of the minutes of October 6, 2011. Britt motioned that the minutes be approved as written; Scott G. seconded the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved, 8-Yes/0-No.
- CCR 10/11-01 TEM 520 Organizational Behavior and Management New Course for MSTEM (Master of Science: Transportation and Engineering Management). Bob provided an improved assessment plan for the course. Michele motioned for approval, pending ATI training for Bob; Nipoli seconded the motion. The unanimous vote was 8-Yes/0-No.
- CCR 10/11-02 TEM 530 Financial Management New course for MSTEM. There were comments from the members of the Curriculum Committee that the CCR needs stronger assessment language. Scott G. motioned that the CCR be tabled until the next meeting, pending the addition of a detailed assessment plan; Britt seconded the motion. The unanimous vote was 8-Yes/0-No.
- ~ Tim will present an informal CCR at the next meeting.
- Subcommittee members were selected for the GSMA and IBL program reviews.
 GSMA Britt, Michele, and Taiyo
 IBL Tom, Scott G., and MT Dept. representative

NEW BUSINESS

- The Maritime Operations Dept. will be dissolved at the end of the Fall 2011 semester. Two engineering faculty members will transfer to the Engineering Technology Dept. and seven deck faculty members will transfer to the Marine Transportation Dept.
- ~ There will be only one cruise in 2012.
- Tom motioned for adjournment; Nipoli seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 2:32 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Pat Hanpen

Pat Harper, Secretary

cc: Bill Schmid, President, Academic Senate Gerald Jakubowski, Provost & VPAA Stephen Kreta, AVP, Academics Evelyn Andrews, Registrar