M-I-N-U-T-E-S Curriculum Committee Thursday, September 6, 2012, 3:30 PM

Present: Tom Nordenholz (Chair), Charlie Arms, Britt Elliott, Ryan Dudley, Michele Van Hoeck, Nipoli

Kamdar, Jon Kassoff, Jeff Ward, Scott Saarheim (by phone), Peg Solveson (Non-voting), Phil Stilson

(Non-voting), and Pat Harper (Non-voting)

Absent: Scott Green, Jaya Punglia, Mike Tressel (Non-voting), and Nael Aly (Non-voting)

* The meeting was called to order at 3:32 PM.

- * Charlie called for approval of the minutes of August 20, 2012. Nipoli motioned that the minutes be approved; Ryan seconded the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved, 8-Yes/0-No.
- * Nominations for chair of the Curriculum Committee were requested. Ryan Dudley nominated Tom Nordenholz; Michele seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. A vote was taken and Tom Nordenholz was unanimously elected chair, 8-Yes/0-No.
- * There was discussion about deadlines. Tom will attend a future Academic Dean's Council meeting to talk to the chairs about deadlines and what timelines the Curriculum Committee requires.
- * There was discussion about Curriculum Committee representatives per department. We need a Culture and Communication rep. Michele motioned to continue to keep the status quo members until a subcommittee hammers out the details when revising the Curriculum Committee's Policies and Procedures document; Britt seconded the motion. The unanimous vote was 8-Yes/0-No. Tom and Ryan agreed to work on the subcommittee.
- * Pat informed the Committee members that the Curriculum Committee now has a link on the Academic Senate web page. Faculty members who have logged in will have access to the Curriculum Committee forms, minutes, policy and procedures, and will eventually have access to completed CCR documents and agendas.
- * Michele asked if the MPM Dept. had responded to the self-study subcommittee's questions about the Maritime Policy and Management's Self Study. There has been no response from the department so Ryan will talk to Tim Lynch.
- * Britt motioned for adjournment; Nipoli seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 4:20 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Pat Harger

Pat Harper, Secretary

cc: Julie Chisholm, President, Academic Senate Gerald Jakubowski, Provost & VPAA Stephen Kreta, AVP, Academics Evelyn Andrews, Registrar