## M-I-N-U-T-E-S Curriculum Committee Thursday, March 7, 2013, 11:00 AM

Present: Tom Nordenholz (Chair), Ryan Dudley, Graham Benton, Nipoli Kamdar, Scott Green, Phil Stilson

(Non-voting), Peg Solveson (Non-voting), Mike Tressel (Non-voting), Nael Aly (Non-voting) and Pat

Harper (Non-voting)

Absent: Britt Elliott, Michele Van Hoeck, Jaya Punglia, Scott Saarheim, Jon Kassoff, and Jeff Ward

Guests: Robbie Jackson

\* The meeting was called to order at 11:00 AM.

- \* Tom called for approval of the minutes of January 23, 2013. Scott motioned that the minutes be approved; Nipoli seconded the motion. The minutes were unanimously approved, 5-Yes/0-No.
- \* Robbie Jackson was present to answer questions about the proposed new major, B.S. Electronics & Computer Engineering Technology. After some discussion, Graham motioned that the Provost Council should be asked to discuss the issue of how a non-cruise/no international experience requirement for the new major would affect the Cal Maritime four compass points and ADA. What is the nature of an international experience? Is an international experience required? Scott seconded the motion. Terry Mancilla needs to revise the BS ECET document and send it back to the Curriculum Committee.
- \* CCR 03/13-01 EGL 200 Introduction to Literature Delete EGL 100 as a prerequisite. Ryan motioned for approval, Nipoli seconded the motion. The vote was 6-Yes/0-No (Michele voted by email).
- \* Differences in Terminology used by WASC and Curriculum Committee Graham Benton introduced the topic of terminology and how the words "course outcomes" and "course objectives" are used differently by WASC and the Curriculum Committee. He suggested that we change "competencies" to "outcomes" and "course goals" to "objectives." He will work on it and get back to the Committee.
- \* Ryan motioned for adjournment; Nipoli seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 12:30 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Pat Harper, Secretary

cc: Steve Browne, Chair, Academic Senate Gerald Jakubowski, Provost & VPAA Thomas Cropper, President Evelyn Andrews, Registrar