

## ACADEMIC SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

## **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING**

## SEPTEMBER 26, 2017 FACULTY CONFERENCE ROOM

The meeting was called to order by Tom Nordenholz at 11:05 am.

**Present:** Tom Nordenholz (Chair), Alex Parker (Vice-Chair), Khalid Bachkar, Cynthia Trevisan, Steve Browne, Brent Pohlmann, Keir Moorhead, Dinesh Pinisetty (Secretary)

Absent: None

A copy of the minutes from the General committee meeting are uploaded to dropbox and the committee members will have time until the next meeting to approve.

The chair of the academic senate introduced 'Alec Nation' (ASCMA student representative).

The meeting started off by passing out a short article written by Dr. Wil Tsai (Faculty in ME) on the Information Technology (IT) issues in CSUM campus.

The first part of the meeting was focused on the discussion related to IT issues surrounding the academics in CSUM campus. A number of Faculty have bought issues concerned with licensing issues of critical learning software's, compatibility issues of classroom computers, classroom computers being very slow, etc. The executive committee have identified few causes for all IT related problems,

- The scope of the academic related jobs handled by the 'Academic Technology Director' is not well-defined.
- Collaboration issues in the hierarchical IT system on campus.
- IT staff being overloaded with different projects.
- A proper system not in place to identify the compatibility of classroom computers with the novel digital technologies during the upgrades.

The executive committee identified few immediate needs on the campus,

Have 'student assistants' serving on the campus-wide help desk. The job of these student
assistants is to direct new freshman students and prospective students to the right department
when they are in need.

 Employ new staff or assign existing staff to solely focus on all the infrastructure updates on campus. This involves ensuring that the upgraded classrooms have proper IT related facilities, software licenses being up-to-date, classroom computers being virus free without any operational issues, projectors operating efficiently etc.

The next part of the meeting was focused on the staffing of academic senate committees.

Most Standing Committees are fully staffed. A few appointments remain open.

Peter Hayes has been elected to serve on the senate RTP committee replacing Robbie Jackson for the remainder of the term.

Kier Moorhead will be serving on the Cruise committee.

Academic Integrity Committee (AIC) requires only tenured faculty to serve on the committee. One member and two alternates need to be accommodated on it. Frank Yip and Amy Parsons will serve on this Committee.

GE committee is all set with representations from all departments except for IBL and MT. Steve Browne volunteered to serve on GE committee from the MT department.

The academic senate chair suggested that all departments should co-ordinate to work on the RTP guidelines for each departments as a part of Appendix K. The senate chair provided a rough draft of the RTP guidelines for ME department that he is working on as an example.